walking with warhol

DSC_0083

Whew… I just finished 13 weeks teaching for our local art teacher who was on maternity leave.  Truthfully it was a divine appointment.  I needed a season of waking up – GETTING DRESSED – getting out the door – TEACHING – meeting new people – INTERACTING.  I loved it, it was like riding a bike, being back in the classroom.  I accomplished nothing of my own artwork except “examples” but sometimes you just need a season to break away and heal (literally, I also broke my arm the first week.)

I got to make my own lesson plans at the highschool which was a fun creative jog for me.  I pretty much had free reign… except the perimeter to stay in POP art.  This project was based off of Andy Warhol’s artwork – I wanted to steer clear of multicolored portraits and soup cans.  After putting a slideshow together of his work,  I realized that he began his career making shoe illustrations and ended it with these wild designer camouflage prints.  We decided to combine the two for this acrylic painting project.  Shoes are so personal and tell so much about a person – It really did help me to get to know the students better.  They also used design-seeds (I love this site)  to pick color schemes and learned to mix paint to match.  These are all students work,  they did such a great job!

DSC_0076 DSC_0073

DSC_0065DSC_0066

 

DSC_0071

 

I love doing painting projects for the result but I hate the clean up…. it makes me feel like such a mom… just look at the chaotic drying rack.

DSC_0062

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “walking with warhol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

