a moment to love

Tonight i was reminded of a story from my honeymoon. A and I went to an island on the pacific NW coast and visited several small country B&B’s. The view was breathtaking and the company was even better. At one place we stayed in a private cottage off the edge of the property overlooking the sound. It was an artsy and eclectic place, just like its owner. During our visit we learned that a family that had stayed in the main lodge which housed four rooms had lice.

The single woman running the place was working around the clock on her own washing sheets and cleaning. She had nobody else to call on for help. One encounter with her exposed the extreme fatigue which permeated her entire persona. My heart longed to lay it all aside and help in any way possible.  A moment perched on the edge of crossroad.  Yet I remember as a newly wed couple we wrestled with the timing.  In the end the fact that it was our honeymoon won out and we never ended up helping the woman.

My heart has always grieved this moment passed. I can never help thinking we missed a major turing point moment to serve and truly practice love. How could that selflessness touched that woman’s heart, the depths of our souls and the collective heart of our marriage.

We have been married now for over 8 years. Reflecting on this moment, I am stricken with the responsibility of not only serving but also casting a tone in my marriage and being a living example to my children. What a glorious weight, to love others. I have to trust in Gods promised that his plan will never be thwarted. That although a moment was lost, humbly know there will more opportunities to serve, as he continually draws us in and teaches us how to love deeper.

Galatians 5:13 (The Message) 13-15It is absolutely clear that God has called you to a free life. Just make sure that you don’t use this freedom as an excuse to do whatever you want to do and destroy your freedom. Rather, use your freedom to serve one another in love; that’s how freedom grows. For everything we know about God’s Word is summed up in a single sentence: Love others as you love yourself. That’s an act of true freedom.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

