white table centerpiece

So I love how these came out, I practically giggled when I cracked the kiln. To describe the process, I wanted to originally make these from porcelain but it just wasn’t working out.  Then I tried to throw them (on the wheel for you non-potters, NOT across the room), but really was going for a square.  Try three produced these white stoneware boxes with  good coffee on a saturday morning. Finally things were going my way.  There is a little crack on one, and a little warpage on another, but compared to the first two attempts….  I love the natural feel of these and the glaze which drifted together like a Michigan snow bank.  The flowers were timed perfectly and slightly fragrant.

I gave the large one to my mother-in-law and the two smaller ones to my sister-in-laws.  I wish I made one more for my self, maybe a January morning will take me back there.  She wanted the table all white, so this was my contribution.  I also made little porcelain snowflake ornaments for table place-cards, with everyone’s name stamped in them.  I am so happy that these all turned out, and the close similarities to my drawing.  It has been a great Christmas break but I am eager to get home and start working on some new ideas.  Just wanted to show you all my excitement of how these guys turned out!

* I used spectrums running hot chowder over a swipe of texture kiwi.  I love how it brought out hints of green and crimson.  A nice little holiday surprise.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

