i like that ikat

I have been seeing a lot of this fabric and design called ikat lately, which I knew very little about.  So after some online research here’s what I’ve learned…

Ikat is the method of weaving that uses a resist dyeing process similar to tie-dye on either the warp or weft fibres.  The dye is applied prior to the threads being woven to create the final fabric pattern or design.

As woven fabric rarely survives for more than a few centuries it is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to determine where the technique of ikat originated. It probably developed in several different locations independently. Ikat was known to be produced in several pre-Columbian Central and South American cultures.

So this fabric has been around for quite some times and undoubtedly has made its way numerous times through design circles, but It’s new to me and now I have a greater understanding of the method and history.  I thought it was another fall trend but it has been popping up in spring lines.

like here.
and here.

I just started making these, it is a neat little feature on etsy where you can highlight your favs or a trend.  This is what appears on the front page, as chosen by etsy teams. I made an ikat themed treasury of items handmade, check it out here.

 

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

