where you sit matters…

I was talking with a group of friends this week about significant turning points at different stages of life.  This caused me to reflect and share a story from my late teens,  and since I am mostly a verbal processor, I think I gleaned a little more from it…

When I was 18.8 years old I attended an “intense bible” session at Summit ministries in Manitou Springs, Colorado.   This was a tradition that my parents started and sent all five us to when we completed high school as a last-ditch effort to submerge us in Christianity before entering college.  In the small and oddly shaped classroom the seats were assigned by age starting at the front 21.6, 21.5, 21.25, 21.23…. so you can imagine that I being 18.8 thought I would be somewhere nicely in the middle and would coast through the three weeks.  Not that I was a bad kid or was upset to be there, but that’s what I had become accustomed to, sliding by and blending in.

I truly believe the Lord had a different plan.  For some reason unannounced to me, those setting up the room managed to squeeze a few extra rows of chairs on the side facing the rest of the classroom.  In the very first row, in the first seat my fate was sealed when I saw the numbers 18.8.   It’s like he was saying from that very first lecture, “this is where I want you, not where you were planning, but right here, upfront, close to me, so pay attention!”

While it was inevitable that I learned something that week, as I had no choice but to pay attention and take notes… I knew little of the impact this would have on my life. It began a real and deep faith journey for me.  God cares enough to pick our seat for us, according to his plan and purpose.  He desires for us to be close, drawn near nad learn from him.  Are you willing to change seats?  To be upfront, close to the teacher, listening to his words?  This is where I want you, not what you were planning, so pay attention!

That week solidified a change that Jesus had already began in me.  From believing to truly learning to walk in his way.  I recommitted my life to Jesus while singing this song led by some of the students in the course.  Everytime I hear it my heart is so full of joy at that commitment to walk with him.

You are my strength when I am weak
You are the treasure that I seek
You are my all in all
Seeking You as a precious jewel
Lord, to give up I’d be a fool
You are my all in all 

Taking my sin, my cross, my shame
Rising up again I bless Your name
You are my all in all

When I fall down You pick me up
When I am dry You fill my cup
You are my all in all 

Jesus, Lamb of God
Worthy is Your name
Jesus, Lamb of God
Worthy is Your name

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “where you sit matters…

  • thejasonhenry

    I love this post! I saw your blog about ceramic journals, which I thought was a really great idea, since I enjoy both ceramics and journals, but I noticed the passing reference to “memory verses” in your journals and then saw you described yourself as a follower of Christ, so I poked around a little more and found this one. It’s surprising, I found a good Christian blogger faster looking at a random article about ceramic journals than searching on Jesus (which yielded some strange blogs).

    Anyway, I really love the image of God picking your seat as one of the seemingly little things that He “works together for our good” and through which He draws us to himself.

    In Christ,
    -Jason

Leave a Reply

