books, books and sacred corners

Some mornings you wake up and know its just gonna be a great day.  The beauty of the ordinary which is rarely appreciated until something catastrophic happens and we long to be back in that spot.  That mindset allowed me to savor waking up early with my husband, anticipate the coffee brewing and reading in bed together for a whole hour before the girls even woke.  Dutch baby pancakes and sausage for breakfast, I sat on the couch gearing up to go out and shovel the 5 new inches of snow when my neighbor drove up in his tractor/plow and took care of the sidewalk and driveway.
This allowed me to look around at corners of my home that I have been overlooking for weeks with a new freshness.  I wish I took a before picture but I am sure we can all imagine a corner ruled completely by kids, books shoved in crannies, crayons, sticky fingers… isn’t that quite the picture in itself!   This morning I was on a mission more than straightening books but sorting and savoring.   As nut turned four shortly before Christmas I am torn between making room on the shelves for new mature books and parting with treasured pages.  We are a family that reads, so many afternoons are spent snuggling on the sofa a kid on each side a pile of books on the lap.   I generally fall somewhere in-between a keeper and purger, but today is a great day.  I can confidently make the room, letting go of the objects, yet keep the memories and moments.  Sometimes the letting go leaves your hands free to embrace what is coming ahead.
About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

