game night & strawberry ice-cream

Great way to celebrate Valentines, last night we invited another family over for game night with decadent desserts.  Which was a bit tricky since our oven decided to stop working but we managed to whip up  a fresh batch of strawberry ice-cream, molten-lava cakes (sorry no pictures), strawberry-rhubarb pie, last weeks peanut butter banana ice cream, fresh berries, and chocolate whip cream.  What a treat!

I am so thankful to live in a community with great friends who have kiddos the same age as ours.  It is a pleasure to see them play and love on each other.   The adults enjoyed a round of Ticket to Ride (best game ever) and I can’t believe I lost.  I feel a little rematch in the making….!

Strawberry Ice-cream

2 cups whipping cream

1 cup milk

1 cup strawberries puree

2 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

I used frozen berries that we picked last summer.  They still taste just as sweet and fresh, it makes me look forward to this years season.   Puree the berries with milk, mix eggs and sugar together with a whisk before adding the rest of the ingredients.  Pour all into the maker, freeze according to your machine’s instructions.  I found that it solidified a bit faster in the ice-cream maker when using the frozen fruit.  So delicious and Pink!

May this be your warning… I feel like I needed to get a grasp on my base recipes before I start adding crazy flavors into the mix.  When I start posting frozen yogurt recipes you’ll know the heavy cream has caught up to me.

 

 

 

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

