Pistachio Ice Cream

This weekend papa came to town.  I love seeing my daughters interact with him and watching them melt his big old heart.  My dad is a nut lover, so we whipped up a batch of this.  I chose not to strain the first addition of nuts, which I would recommend doing since it changes the texture.  Still good just very nutty. This recipe was accompanied by warm chocolate cakes – which I would have totally gone for if my oven was fixed… I am patiently waiting.

Papa has his PSIA so we put it to good use on Monday and headed to Caberfae Peaks.  I love that my family has a passion for skiing, it made me so proud to see our whole family out on the slopes.

Pistachio Ice Cream

Bon Appétit | January 1999

Brasserie Perrier, Philadelphia PA

 

  • 1 cup unsalted shelled pistachios
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups milk (do not use low-fat or nonfat)
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup unsalted shelled pistachios, toasted, coarsely chopped

 

preparation

Finely grind 1 cup pistachios and 1/4 cup sugar in processor. Bring milk and ground pistachio mixture to boil in heavy large saucepan. Remove from heat. Mix in almond extract.

Whisk egg yolks and remaining 1/2 cup sugar in medium bowl. Gradually whisk in hot milk mixture. Return custard to saucepan. Cook over low heat until custard thickens and leaves path on back of spoon when finger is drawn across, stirring constantly, about 10 minutes (do not boil). Strain into large bowl. Chill until cold, about 2 hours.

Stir 1 cup whipping cream and chopped pistachios into custard. Process mixture in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer to container and freeze.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

