pressing on through winters ride

Hosea 6:2-4

After two days he will revive us;
on the third day he will restore us,
that we may live in his presence.
Let us acknowledge the LORD;
let us press on to acknowledge him.
As surely as the sun rises,
he will appear;
he will come to us like the winter rains,
like the spring rains that water the earth.”

 

This weekend I was a camper at SpringHill for the first time!  I dared to attend a winter teen retreat with the junior highers from our church, which proved to be a great time.  What a great weekend of refreshment and a chance to view this place from a new perspective.

I also conquered a new first – I went on a winter trail ride.  I actually have never ever been on a trail ride ever, so to do it in winter was even more daunting for me.  I am not a big fan of horses to begin with the size, strength and their will, slightly frightens me, when I am on and off them.  The snow added another obstacle and another burden (me being the first) for the horse, as it trusted the guide and other horses traveling in front of it to step in the right spots down the right path.

My girls love horses, we visit the barn often in the summer. I have paid little attention in the past to their bodily change for the seasons, all the horses seemed larger and harrier then I remember.  While this seems like an odd detail to focus on, it struck me that their bodies ready themselves for the long season ahead, and they are most likely oblivious to the change.  By contrast we know the taste of each season, and long not only with our bodies but our whole being for what comes next.  We are not created to passively wait for change but ready ourselves by reading the word and putting our faith into action.

As surly as the sun rises he will appear, let us press on to acknowledge him, that he will revive us, restore us, that we may live in his presence.

 

 

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “pressing on through winters ride

  • Diane

    I was scared of horses too until my first summer at SH when I was with the TSTers in the barn for the week. Once I understood them more, I could see their beauty and gentle spirits and appreciate God’s creativity displayed through them.

  • Kate

    They are absolutely beautiful! They let us pick our own horses, so many looked strong and sleek. I chose “whispy” an older horse for the stated reasons above.

    Glad you liked Ranch duty!

Leave a Reply

