happy birthday babe

It was my guys birthday last week.  I love him and celebrating another year we spent together.  Forgoing a cake we baked him a skillet chocolate chip cookie, bringing back memories of our days in Africa, and cooking from recipes found in magazines friends sent over. If you ever go to live in Africa take a good cookbook, one that teaches you to cook from scratch, not just add xyz to box of cake mix or add a can of cream of mushroom…  They just don’t have pre-made stuff like that available whenever you need it or chocolate chips for that matter, but luckily we knew how to get around that.

Skillet-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookie

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups (about 9 ounces) mixed milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips

homemade coffee Ice-cream (we happen to have some of that on hand!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until mixture is light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add egg and vanilla; mix until they are fully incorporated. Add flour mixture, and beat until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
  2. Transfer dough to a 10-inch ovenproof skillet, and press to flatten, covering bottom of pan. Bake until edges are brown and top is golden, 40 to 45 minutes. Don’t overbake; it will continue to cook a few minutes out of the oven. Transfer to a wire rack to cool, 15 to 20 minutes. Cut into 8 wedges. Serve warm; top each wedge with a scoop of ice cream and some caramel sauce.

Skillet-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookie – Martha Stewart Recipes

I made one of his gifts, cause I like to do that sort of thing.  He is forever using the little plastic glasses that I bought for the girls, and whenever he does use a glass we tend to get ours mixed up.   So I decided to personalize a pair using glass etching cream and some hand cut stencils on contact paper.  The etching cream, leaves a permanent etch/frost on the glass wherever applied.  I like em…  and there is a bunch left so I may have a little party on the glass around my house.  I’ll see what I can scrounge up,  it really is quite easy and looks much more sophisticated than it is.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

