nana’s hands

This is a sweet little photo from a visit with my mother last week.  I know these hands, they have touched me in so many ways.  I recognize them almost as if they were my own.  How beautiful it is for me to reflect on them and see them with another little pair that I cherish so much.

These hands:

* cradled me when I was a baby

* tied bows on all my easter dresses

* colored in countless pictures with me as a child

* packed my lunch every morning before school

* hugged me and held me on sad days

* patted me on the back when I did a good job

* expertly french braided and brushed my hair

* stirred rice pilaf in the electric skillet

* sewed us clothes

* picked up clothes off the floor and folded countless loads of laundry

* drove us to school, dance, swim practice, roller skating, soccer…

* waved goodbye when I left for college

* held my hand tight when they walked me down the aisle on my wedding day

* wiped away tears after my grandma passed away

* traveled to Africa to hold my first-born child

* wrote down many memories and notes on all my school papers

* make pink princess cookies with my two babes

I love these hands, but even more so the heart that moves them.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

3 responses to “nana’s hands

Leave a Reply

