une petite confession

My little confession this week, I made *ahem 3 batches of ice-cream….  all new flavors!  It’s a good thing I’ve been running, but this may begin to wreak havoc on my training schedule.  In my defense they have all been smaller batches which I shared with my family of four, and various visitors.  I love having it in the freezer for the sole purpose of being able to pull out something “homemade” to offer friends.  My husband just likes it being in the freezer, period.

Seriously this was too good to not share.   I made simple crêpes and sautéed apples in a little butter and maple syrup, but it was the cinnamon ice-cream that stole the show.   I couldn’t really find a recipe that I liked so I made up this one (something that I must also confess do quite often).  I am learning that following the steps are quite important even for something as simple as making ice-cream.  If you don’t whisk the eggs in properly you get little frozen bits of eggs – which ruins the creamy texture.

Cinnamon Ice-cream (aka heavenly!)

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs beaten

1 cup heavy cream

1 cup half & half

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Using a whisk blend sugars and eggs in a bowl.  Gradually add creams and whisk until incorporated.  Add vanilla and cinnamon.  Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufactures instructions.

* My machine takes 20-30 minutes, then I scrape the sides and scoop the ice-cream into a freezable container.  I find it takes a few hours in the freezer to reach a true consistency.   This would be an awesome one to pull out in the fall with an apple pie or really anything!  Hope you enjoy.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “une petite confession

Leave a Reply

