how to eat an ice cream cone…

This past week we took a little holiday break.  We are fortunate to have family who shared their cottage, so we were able to stay close but be utterly refreshed.  Our trip was composed of lazy days, a day trip to the water park, great dinners with old friends and family, a ginormous christmas store and lots of family time.  Quite wonderful it was!

Yesterday it was back to normal… my swimming partner presented to me with this book yesterday morning in the locker room.  It was written before I was born… but absolutely sweet that she saw it and picked it up for me.  The cover says a lot but it’s even more fun inside.

I love looking at old cookbooks filled with personal hand-written notes, stains, and a few extra recipe clippings mixed in as page savers.  I think every recipe in this book makes no less than 5 gallons, I’ll have to do the math to size them down.  Just look at this heritage!

The entire book is written very witty including several published articles from The New Yorker and a complete history of the creamy stuff.  It is interesting to see how lingo changes over time and influences the meaning or tone of the text.

Very Fun… looks like I have some reading to do!

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

