all wrapped up

These are some of my sample scarves for the workshop at the women’s retreat this weekend.  I try to do them all in different styles so participants get an idea of how versatile silk painting is.  It was super windy the day that I took these photos, I love how they dance around in the series of shots, so light and airy.  If I had to give them titles they would be “April showers” and “spring paisley”.  These plus any demonstration scarves will be sold at the end of the weekend to raise money for camper scholarships.

While I had all my supplies out I also painted a few squares to make some furoshiki – a japanese wrapping cloth.  These squares of cloth were traditionally used to carry bundles of clothes to public baths but are now are used to transport goods or bento (lunch) boxes.  They are also becoming very popular as an environmentally friendly alternative to gift wrap.  The wrapping is a gift by itself, to be reused or as these silks can be used as a scarf or headband.   I have wrapped two of my journals below – I am pretty thrilled how they came out!



About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

4 responses to “all wrapped up

Leave a Reply

