milestones…

This is my 100th post (I know already!) and I ran my first 10K ever this morning at the Grand Rapids river bank run.  Who would have ever thought I would be doing either of these in 2011.   I was overwhelmed by the mass number of people moving in the same direction.  The image of so many individuals moving towards the same goal, like a highway of people.  Very aware of all that were around me, I found that I consistently miscalculated people.  It’s that unseen training and inner drive that keeps one going, not matching outfits, skin color, or body size.  Soon after I was cheering for that runner who slowed down on the side of the road and those defying my judgement. How important encouragement is, (I loved my two personal cheerleaders) even more so as the end draws near.   Each runner with their own beautiful story and motivation, racing together to finish.  I saw this as the simplest observation and found it easily transferable to spiritual applications.  This is what we train for friends; eternity.  You Can Do It!

Hebrews 12:1-2   Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.

Isaiah 62:10-12  Pass through, pass through the gates! Prepare the way for the people.  Build up, build up the highway!  Remove the stones. Raise a banner for the nations. The LORD has made proclamation to the ends of the earth: “Say to Daughter Zion,  ‘See, your Savior comes!  See, his reward is with him, and his recompense accompanies him.’  They will be called the Holy People, the Redeemed of the LORD; and you will be called Sought After,  the City No Longer Deserted.

We were so thankful for our little getaway, it was just what we needed.  An overnight, little family time and a pool.   I loved seeing all these little love notes on the table this morning.  “I hope that we stay here every night” heart heart heart!

Nut fell asleep in the car holding her balloon from the race.  Static electricity took over, clinging to her cheek and making her hair dance as she bobbed in her sleep.  Poor innocent little thing she was just as wiped out as I was…  yet she even amuses us in her sleep.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “milestones…

Leave a Reply

