transformation of a rhubarbarian

I wasn’t quite sure what rhubarb tasted like before I inherited a 50+ year old root from my husbands grandparent’s garden.  It sure possesses plenty of options…  Our crop finally came in and I whipped up a batch of rhubarb sorbet (yum!) and paired it with a strawberry rhubarb crisp with walnut topping (double yum!)
I even used the leaves to make clay impressions for some larger guest books.  I think these would be so lovely glazed in a white and bound with blue linen threads, to be used at a wedding or another special occasion.  I also made a serving bowl with a matching ceramic spoon.  I don’t know if you can gauge the size but this it going to turn out great.  I have seen people use these leaves to make concrete bird baths but I like the idea that supports my human consumption and need to create.   I really want to press a few more to add to this kiln load – I think I love them!

Rhubarb Sorbet & Strawberry-rhubarb crisp with walnut topping
3 1/2 cups fresh rhubarb (4-5 stalks)
2 1/4 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tsp orange zest
2 tbsp corn syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1. Cook rhubarb, sugar, water, salt, and zest in a saucepan. Bring to boil then reduce heat, cover and let simmer 5-10 minutes until soft and rhubarb falls apart.
2. Cool slightly then puree using a blender in batches.  Chill in the fridge until cold or overnight.  Strain through a fine mesh strainer, removing pulp.  You may need to press the liquid through using a spatula.  Add the corn syrup.
3. Using an ice cream maker, freeze according to your manufactures instructions. It will begin to ball in your maker but will still be soft.  Transfer to a freezer container and place in the freezer until firm.  The pink color intensifies slightly when frozen.
This is so delicious, I have never had anything like it.  Enjoy!
About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

