handmade silky strands of colors

I made these… all parts handmade.  This past fall I was inspired to make some pendant necklaces out of stoneware clay.  I love this process as I can stamp textures or meaningful scriptures and encouragement into the clay.  Its a new platform to display my work that I had never considered before.  Until now I have hung them on suede necklaces but this weekend I put my brush to work and mixed my love for watercolors and silk painting to make these unique watercolor strands for my pendants.  They are a soft rolled silk strands, hand sewn and hand painted, I love how the colors come to life and add a softness and playfulness.  I also opened a glaze kiln this weekend, I will post more pics later… plus I added a link from my long abandoned flicker account.  Lots of new pendants and meaningful pieces.  I am truly thankful for this opportunity to create and make such personal works. Enjoy!


About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “handmade silky strands of colors

  • BarbaraZ

    These are wonderful! Great idea for your pendants. Are they on Etsy yet?

    • Kate

      Thank you, I will add some soon, maybe tomorrow. I am enjoying the colors as they add to my studio. The biggest problem has been picking my favorite!

      I got to go to the zoo today with my daughters kindergarten class. One more day until summer vacation!

Leave a Reply

