homemade lemonade ice-cream with blueberry rhubarb crisp.

I may have used this as a bribe, to get one of my very busy camp friends to come and visit me… it worked! Today she leaves to head up one of our Detroit daycamps teams, which I am happy to say my daughter is FINALLY old enough to attend.  We are excited for camp, and love how this new ministry is reaching more kids and partnering with more local churches, in Indy, Chicago, Grand Rapids, Detroit, Cincinnati and Traverse city… well more places than that, but if you have a kid in 1-4 grades, check out SpringHill’s daycamp – it’s great and has AMAZING staff!

Lemonade Ice-Cream

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 can frozen lemonade concentrate, partially thawed

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Using a whisk, beat the eggs and sugar in a bowl.  Slowly add the heavy cream milk, lemonade and vanilla, stir until all is incorporated.  Transfer to ice cream maker and freeze according to directions.  My family thinks this tastes like a lemon creamsicle – yum.

Blueberry Rhubarb Crisp

Fruit filling

4 cups rhubarb

4 cups blueberries

1 cup sugar

3 tbsp flour

1 tsp vanilla

Mix in a bowl and spread in a greased 9×13 pan.  I split mine in two 8×8 pans, and put one in the freezer for when someone drops by… I can effortlessly look like I was expecting them (in theory).

Crisp Topping

1/2 cup cold butter, cut in cubes

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 tbsp cinnamon

2 cups old fashion oats

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix all topping ingredients and layer on top of the fruit.  Bake at 375’ for 35-40 minutes or until bubbly and rhubarb is tender.  So good – enjoy!

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

