spoon or dip?

The truth of the matter is, I make a “ton” of stuff… but never enough.  I am trying to learn the balance of how much to make and of what.  It must be an age-old artisan thing you have to make to sell, sell to make (and a few extras to keep.)

So I made these little bread dipping bowls with the intention of taking them to my local farmers market.  The spiral texture in the middle is perfect for rubbing garlic, which is awesome when mixed with olive oil, a little sea salt, fresh pepper and rosemary.  We love fresh bread and often serve it this way at meals.  I like the shallow bowl as opposed to plates because I don’t like it when the oil spills over on my linens. I want to sell these guys but I also want to keep them all!  These are just one of the things that make me smile when we sit down at the table, like I made something that our whole family enjoys together.

So process… I also made these little spoons, which are cute, the variety is a good indication that I could never make things from molds.  I love making them with my hands and their uniqueness.  Before I knew it I was stamping letters into them – yummy, sweet… I don’t know if you can see the little blue one but it says “open wide.”  I paired the little purple set – wouldn’t that make a sweet little baby present.  I’ll have to throw some normal bowls (without the texture) and add some cute sayings, any ideas?  I foresee a little throwing in the studio this weekend.  This is how I work, one thing usually leads to another.  happy weekend.

 

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

