knock knock little fairy

With the older kids at daycamp this week, I snuck out with my mom, nut and my nephew for a little urban fairy door hunt in Ann Arbor.  We found quite a few on the list before we stopped for lunch at sweetwater cafe. The kids left little token hearts for each fairy, it was adorable to see them peeking in the windows  and knocking on the doors, “come out, come out little fairies we want to play!”  None came out… I don’t know why? if someone left life-sized swedish fish for me, I would open up in a heartbeat.

In the afternoon, I stopped by Hollanders in kerrytown shops and took a workshop with their summer artists in residence.  I have been wanting to take a class forever now but my schedule has not lined up.  They were making these little flag books in the drop-in class,  I had such a grin from ear to ear just to be in the workshop and working alongside other creative souls again.  Seriously such a grin!  The little purple book in progress is mine, I am thinking about incorporating little fairy doors and leaves – something magical that highlights our trip.  I am thankful for a chance to learn a new skill and check out the many facets of bookmaking.  It’s always good to get out of your comfort zone and stretch your creativity.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “knock knock little fairy

  • Blondzombie

    Fairy Doors?!? I’ve never even heard of these. What a great idea. My five year old daughter would love it. Where is this list? Is it online?

    • Kate

      Ann Arbor, MI. They have a website but it’s not so hot – urban-fairies.com. They also have an art festival now through saturday going on downtown.

Leave a Reply

