mocha raspberry ice cream and thunder cake

I have some ice cream connoisseurs at my home.  My husband who is normally not a raspberry fan said, “you’d sell out of this if you ran an ice-cream shop…”  How sweet of him,  I think it was an announcement that our freezer is getting a little low.  I swirled in some of my homemade raspberry jam and added some chopped Hershey’s raspberry bliss chocolates. yum.

I have quite a few books of Michigan author and illustrator Patricia Polacco.   Such beautiful illustrations, her style transforms heavily sketched illustrations which dance the story to life.  This summer my kids added this one as a prize from the summer reading program at our local library.  It really has only rained twice this summer, both times my kids remembered this story and begged to make a thunder cake.  This is one of our favorites Lemonade cake.

Mocha raspberry ice cream
2 cups whipping cream
1 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar
4 tsp cocoa powder
1 Starbucks colombian Via packet
2 large eggs
Mix well and transfer to ice cream maker.  I added the last two ingredients the last two minutes of the churning.  transfer to freezer safe container.
1/2 cup raspberry freezer jam, slightly melted
8 Hershey bliss chocolates, chopped
About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

