in the patch

This pretty much sums up a great day. Perfect weather and time with the whole family  and bucketS of berries.  I loved hearing my kids “mom, look at this one, it’s the biggest and juciest.” They are not afraid to take their time finding just the perfect ones or pop a squat on the ground and stain their pants while enjoying the already picked buckets.   But me, every time I turn into the greediest picker – can you ever pick enough? (ok I smuggled a few handfuls to eat too.)

This is actually a very big patch so you couldn’t quite tell how many people were there.  Every once in a while you could hear kids in the next row over or people talking and saying the exact same things “look at this one!”.  This is what I love – families out enjoying their day and doing something fun together.   It makes me smile every time!  When we got home I started on these individual berry crisps with *gasp* store-bought vanilla – sometimes convenience wins.  But I do have a whole slue of blueberry goodness recipes to follow.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “in the patch

  • Diane

    Where did you pick? I’m pretty sure most of the farms around us are done with u-pick berries for the season.

    • Kate

      We went to Luddington – can’t beat the beach and berries all in the same day. I think we are about 2 weeks behind southern MI but there may still be some pickin since the weather has cooled. Have you ever checked out the u-pick website for MI? They list all kinds of farms to pick your own produce.

Leave a Reply

