wild blueberry gelato

 

 

I am loving these blueberries – I may be a bit behind on posting my ice-cream trials but this one is a definite keeper.  I was lucky to have a scoop left to take a pic of.  My parents were in town this weekend which I am so grateful for their help so I could do a local art fair.  I always get a bit nervous that I am forgetting something but I am always so encouraged by meeting other artists and vendors not to mention great people.  I was so thankful for the encouraging words by onlookers, I even managed a few sales.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup blueberry jam
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 2 cups 2% reduced-fat milk
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

Preparation

Combine the first 4 ingredients in a medium saucepan, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; cook for 10 minutes. Place mixture in a blender; process until smooth.

Beat the sugar and the egg yolks in a large bowl with a whisk until thick and pale (about 5 minutes).

Heat the milk over medium-high heat in a small, heavy saucepan to 180° or until tiny bubbles form around edge of pan, stirring frequently (do not boil). Add one-third hot milk mixture to sugar mixture, stirring with a whisk. Gradually add to remaining hot milk mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Cook over medium-low heat until mixture coats back of a spoon (about 4 minutes). Remove from heat.

Stir in blueberry mixture, and cool completely. Stir in juice. Pour mixture into the freezer can of an ice-cream freezer; freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Cooking Light JULY 2001

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “wild blueberry gelato

Leave a Reply

