case of the exploding chocolate balloons

It’s my night to host ladies night out.  “Plan A” was to scoop the homemade ice cream into clear plastic cups and serve. Then I was nosing around on a friends pintrest collection (which I thankfully haven’t fallen in the trap of making yet…) and saw chocolate dessert cups made with balloons.  This looked easy enough right?

I should have known when my unstable balloons were spontaneously combusting while just sitting on the counter minding their own business.  I warmed up the chocolate over a pan of simmering water none the less – not even cheating in the microwave and let it cool.  When they say let cool 10 minutes, they mean it.  I learned that lesson when the first balloon exploded.

After the “designated cooling time” I began to dip more balloons – so far so good.  When I had about 6-8 balloons done and resting on wax paper I though I was in the clear.  Wrong!  They were just waiting for the right moment, like a grand finale fireworks show.  My kitchen became a host to exploding chocolate balloons.  I have seen artist parties where folks fill balloons with paint and throw them at the canvas.  This was a bit like that, but the “canvas” was my white kitchen cupboards now splatter with explosions of chocolate!   Sometimes I laugh really loud, maybe it’s a nervous fear laughter, a moment couldn’t have been planned better for it.  Every time I heard a loud pop, there was laughter and chocolate.  Needless to say I went back to “plan A” and enjoyed cleaning up my “mess.”

I think I was a bit behind in my goal due to vacations and busy summer nights.  Here’s a little catch up and variety 1 – sorbet, 1 – gelato, 1 – frozen yogurt.  enjoy!

cantaloupe Basil Sorbet

  • 2 heaping cups of cantaloupe
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 large basil leaves
Add all ingredients to blender.  chill in fridge until cold.  Freeze in your ice cream machine according to directions.  Let it continue to harden in the freezer.   This is best eaten within a few days of making.

Blueberry Mint gelato

I actually used my blueberry gelato recipe and added 8 mint leaves while heating the berries.  These all get blended together and strained but you can still see the little flecks of green leaf.  This recipe turned out more violet this time, as to last time when it was more of a deep red.  This was very Refreshing!

Raspberry frozen yogurt  ** favorite of the night**

  • 3 cups fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups vanilla yogurt
Puree raspberries and strain into a bowl using a fine mesh sieve to remove seeds.  Mix with sugar, milk and yogurt.  Freeze in ice cream maker according to instructions.  I found this recipe took less time that others, so keep your eye on it.
About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

4 responses to “case of the exploding chocolate balloons

Leave a Reply

