hidden beauty

It’s the last week of summer vacation – we are too busy to grieve it. This week has been about 1-on-1 breakfast dates with the girls, parties, friends, camping, bike rides, and movies just because in the morning. I am trying to squeeze every last moment of snuggles and tea party time. I have barely been down to the studio, but I did manage to squeeze a few yarn bowls and buttons in. Next week school begins and I will resume my kiln loading schedule.

I have also been a bit of a book-worm this week, mostly with Madeline l’Engle’s book Two Part Invention: The story of a marriage. There is something beautiful about one sharing their story, the rawness of emotion and ability to see beyond the figures, to get lost in their pain and caught up in their joy. Maybe that is our nature to be curious about others journey not from the outside but in its raw state. I am savoring and pondering her words, I may have more to weigh in on later. For now, here is a raw view of my clay, still wet and vulnerable to change. Fingerprints still visible on the surface as they are slowly dried and waiting for transformation; first in the heat, then their surfaces will be painted. Afterward they will be admired from the outside, the seen form. Will the beauty of the rawness be forgotten? Will anyone see them for the love and personal touch that is underneath? That is the real story, the process, the making, the transformation.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

2 responses to “hidden beauty

Leave a Reply

