peach thyme ice-cream sandwiches with molasses cookies

I have been so impressed with local Michigan peaches this year – usually I turn my nose up to peaches, but lately they are just the thing I crave.  Peaches in Michigan – so delicious!   This week my blender and my food processor both died so I had to finely chop then mash the peaches.  I like that you can still taste distinct flavors from the almost vanilla ice cream with bits of peaches.  The fresh thyme adds to the savory but subtle flavor.  I have a little herb garden in my backyard and I have such an abundance this time of year so I tend to put at least one herb in everything I make.  I also have more friends at this time of year as they come baring scissors to snip a few sprigs or handfuls of  basil, thyme, rosemary, mint, chives, parsley…. you know who you are!   (note to them: if you need herbs, I am offering a special this week, free with ice-cream sandwiches!)

I wanted to make a sandwich of this but wasn’t sure what kind of cookie to make.  I chose molasses because it just reminds me of sweet and sticky pecan pie, and maple syrup.  Even though these are Michigan peaches I still think of the south with this fruit.

Fresh peach & thyme ice-cream

  • 3 Michigan Peaches (or locally whatever state you live in.)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1 -2 tsp chopped fresh thyme
1.  Finely chop peaches and slightly mash with a fork, mix with 1/2 cup sugar, chopped thyme and lemon juice.   Allow to chill in the fridge for the flavors to fuse together about 1 hour.
2. Using a slotted spoon drain juice from the peach mixture into another bowl.   Add to the juice, eggs and beat until light and fluffy.  Add remaining sugar, milk and cream, whisk until blended.
3. Freeze in your maker according to the instructions.
4. After the ice-cream begins to form and stiffen, add the remaining chopped peaches.  Allow the mixture to be evenly incorporated, then transfer to a freezer safe container and freeze until ready.
I used this Molasses Cookie recipe, using butter NOT margarine.  Make them ahead of time so they have time to cool before making them into sandwiches.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “peach thyme ice-cream sandwiches with molasses cookies

Leave a Reply

