good to the core

This seems like a magical year for produce.  I spotted this little grove of apples on camp that I’ve never noticed before.  Tucked out-of-the-way is a grouping of twisted trees, surrounded by weeds and tall grass, pressed down by groups of deer that gravitate towards the fruit.  Surely the herd wouldn’t mind if I picked a few.   I am not sure what the varieties are but these were most definitely planted 50, 60, 70 years ago – by the size of the trees.

The way to get the best apples is to climb the tree which inevitably scrapes your arms or any exposed skin. I try to pick the biggest and best apples I can see.  I think these would qualify as “organic” as I may as well be the only one who has picked here in a LONG time, much less sprayed the tree with anything.  My first fear was that the apples would be bad, ridden with bugs.  My family quickly picked just one basket – which again, I had to hold off my greedy fruit picking tendencies…  At home I quickly went to work making a large stockpot of applesauce and homemade apple pie.  As I sliced through apple after apple I was so surprised they were consistently good to the core.

As I reflect on my fears, I can’t help but compare apples to people.  I tended to go for the apples that looked the best from the outside but  there were very few without blemish.  From afar they all look like apples but up close you can see the changes in roundness and shape.  Scars, blemishes and malformations appear to be the “natural” part of the growing process.  We can judge whatever we want from the outside but we know nothing of the fruits health until we cut in and view it from the core.

Here’s to being content, great apples and eating pie!

Psalm 17:7-9   Show me the wonders of your great love, you who save by your right hand those who take refuge in you from their foes. Keep me as the apple of your eye;  hide me in the shadow of your wings.

 

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “good to the core

Leave a Reply

