Weinhard’s root beer ice cream

This rootbeer has a special place in my heart.  When my husband proposed, he put together a lavish scavenger hunt, this was one of the tokens along the way.  That was almost 10 years ago!

  • 1 bottle Weinhard’s root beer (minus a few sips)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup half & half
  • 1 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp homemade vanilla

I have seen a number of recipes for root-beer ice-cream but they all called for root-beer extract.  I wanted Henry’s original recipe to be part of the concoction.  So I took a bottle (minus a few sips) and reduced it over medium heat with a 1/2 cup of sugar.  It took about 20-30 minutes to reduce into a thickened syrup about 3/4 cup.  In another pan warm the milk until small bubbles form around the sides.  Beat 3 eggs in a bowl and slowly temper by adding 1/2 – 1 cup of the hot milk to the bowl, while whisking.  pour the milk mixture back into the pan add the root-beer syrup, vanilla and warm slightly until it thickens.  Strain warm mixture and let it cool completely in the fridge.  Freeze using an ice cream maker according to your makers directions.  Continue to harden in the freezer.

I hope these directions all make sense, these steps are kind of like driving home now…. I kind of just go into auto-pilot.

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

3 responses to “Weinhard’s root beer ice cream

Leave a Reply

