roar


I have been reading out loud to my girls the Judy Moody series.  Judy is a moody little girl and I think my kiddos are starting to see the humor in her swings, in which she famously voices her displeasure by announcing “roar”.

It has been busy the last few weeks making extra pottery for the holiday shopping season.  This week I opened a glaze load which for most potters charges the “mood” of a child excited on Christmas morning.  After initially getting excited my mood turned sour when I recognized that the glaze flowed down the pieces onto the shelves making a “roar” of a mess.   This happens from time to time for various reasons, in college some blamed “kiln gods,” others blamed bad chemistry, but it is simply the mystery of the trade – pottery can be a craft of luck.  A lot of the pieces turned out just fine, some I will need to clean the bottoms of, but more than I like will be thrown out.  Nevertheless EVERY shelf was left with glaze pieces that need to be scraped off, which is like 100x worse than any spillage you’ve ever had in your oven… totaling hours of work.  Not exactly how I wanted to be spending my few moments in the studio – “roar”.

I humbly share these photos,  instead of beautiful finished pieces today because this was a good lesson learned for me.  Needing a little break and encouragement I turned to my lesson in Acts for a little reprieve.  Leave it to the Lord to teach me a few things about moods.  Paul and Barnabas had been teaching in Lystra and preformed a miracle, which sends the crowd in the wrong direction. The people begin worshiping the men as the gods of Zeus and Hermes,  Paul rebukes them and pleads his mortality stating “we are bringing you good news, telling you to turn from these worthless things to the living God, who made heaven and earth and sea and everything in them.”  They were in danger of stealing God’s spotlight for the miracle,  setting the record straight that only God is the creator and ALL-mighty.  I love that our lesson linked this Acts passage with Romans 1:25,  “They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the creator – who is forever praised. Amen.

Ugh – how important is it for my heart to hear that going into this Christmas season.  My desire to make things is in danger of diverting my attention from remembering God’s most precious gift that he gave us.  My gloomy “roar” must sound like a bitty kitty compared to the lion’s “ROAR.”   We are called to preach the good news that Christ has come, just as Paul and Barnabas had to the early church. Their road was laden with hardships but also glimpses of glory.   I can just hear the “ROAR about your little bitty pots Kate,  I am your creator who breathed life into you!  You make things that can be destroyed, but I made you a vessel that can bring me praise!”  I know that this all seems a bit dramatic, but isn’t this necessary sometimes to realign us in our place and focus our attention on the everlasting. I am very thankful to be able to have this gift of making things especially the ones that bring my attention full circle.  There is only one perfect gift!

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

One response to “roar

  • Dad

    Good to comprehend… wise to practice! Such wisdom is truly the way to live and glorify Him who created you and everything about you.

Leave a Reply

