peppermint ice cream

The snow has returned… last year I found a code that made “snow” appear on your blog.  It automatically shut off after the holidays so I guess I never deleted it, but it’s that time of year again.  I still like it even though it wasn’t intentional, what do you think?

In other holiday cheer, I warned amanda who hosts a cookie exchange every year that this year I am bringing ice cream…. how else am I going to finish this goal (only 8 more recipes left!)  Last week I made the easiest ever Caramel nog ice cream and this week peppermint.  For the caramel Nog, I simply poured a  quart of dulce de leche egg nog into the ice cream maker and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and churned.  I figured it had all the sugar, cream and eggs one needed already in it.  Easiest recipe ever!

Peppermint Ice Cream
1 1/2 cups 2% milk
3/4 cup sugar
4 egg yolks
 Whisk together in a small sauce pan over medium low heat until thickened.  This should be like a custard and should coat the back of a spoon when tested.  Do not heat so long that the eggs cook.
Let cool then add the ingredients below.
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp peppermint extract
1/2 tsp peppermint candies
Chill in the fridge for 1-2 hours or overnight.  Then freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufactures instructions.  The last two minutes of churning add the candies.  Continue to harden in the freezer, this would be delicious if you added chocolate chunks too.  I don’t know why santa asks for cookies, this is a treat.
 
About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

