Sweet loVe

DSC_0820

I LoVe getting mail… and packages.  My husband and I dated long distance for 9 out of the 12 months between the time we met and got married. Not that I would recommend that necessarily but it did allow for a few things.  We became very good at communicating over the phone and through the mail.  The post office will send practically anything (safe) with a stamp on it.   I sent frisbee post cards and Nalgene packages.  I still have a little bundle of letters from him that chronicle our falling in love.  Seeing handwritten letters and packages still stirs my heart.  

DSC_0827

The package above is not from my husband or a surprise, but something I just ordered.  It is still sweet…  Every once in a while I like to treat myself with another potters work.  This cute honey pot was made by JustWork, a collective potters group in Vancouver (where we went on our “honey”moon). Just Work employs individuals who face some kind of barrier to the traditional work force, such as struggles with addiction, mental health issues, disability,  or homelessness. What a sweet reminder to sit on my counter, of my love and encouragement to use our gifts towards charity and empowering those around us in need.

DSC_0829

ps. I am falling in love with this chocolate brown clay and feel the sudden urge to make lidded vessels!

About Kate

I am a wife, mother, friend, artist, swimmer, traveler, cook, adventurer and follower of Christ. This is where I share the best moments in my day – the kind you know would be a crime to keep to yourself. I write like I talk, not too fancy but from the heart. View all posts by Kate

Leave a Reply

